Galatians 4:1-11

Yesterday, our pastor preached an exceptional sermon about going the wrong way.  He referenced many scriptures on this theme, and among them Matthew 7:13:

*

"Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:"

*

Have you entered through the strait gate?  Have you turned from your own way and turned to Christ as your Lord and Savior?

*

For the remainder of January, we will finish up reading and writing in Galatians.  Today’s study is about who we are in Christ…we are sons, heirs, adopted.  We are not under the law.

*

The memory verse is in part 3 of the study this week.  Say the 23rd Psalm before bedtime.  Memorize it. Meditate on it.  When we are saved by grace, through faith, we rejoice because the LORD is our Shepherd and not the law.

Part 1

…20 minutes

  • Pray: For the Holy Spirit to teach you from God’s word
  • Read: 

Galatians 4:1-11

 Now I say, That the heir, as long as he is a child, differeth nothing from a servant, though he be lord of all; 2 But is under tutors and governors until the time appointed of the father. 3 Even so we, when we were children, were in bondage under the elements F6 of the world: 4 But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, 5 To redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons. 6 And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. 7 Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

8 Howbeit then, when ye knew not God, ye did service unto them which by nature are no gods. 9 But now, after that ye have known God, or rather are known of God, how turn ye again F7 to the weak and beggarly elements, whereunto ye desire again to be in bondage? 10 Ye observe days, and months, and times, and years. 11 I am afraid of you, lest I have bestowed upon you labour in vain.

 

  • Write:  …in your notebook, Galatians 4:1-11

 

Part 2

…20 minutes

***Try reading Galatians in this translation that I have linked.  It’s easy to read.

Part 3

  • Memory Verses: Recite each night at bedtime….

"1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever."

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

