Indulging our “fears”

Consumers Cut Back on Small Pleasures

The above link is for a great article… I could live out of a backpack.  I like simplicity and minimalism, BUT I am plagued by stuff.  I’ve gotten so frustrated at times that I haven’t even attempted to give it away, but I’ve stuffed it into a black plastic trash bag, tied it up and put it out for the garbage truck.  I’ve burned it in the burn pit.  If I have a yard sale, I try to give as much away as as possible.  The goal for me is not the money, but rather, not having to put it all back in the basement.  Last week, we were driving around as a family and mulling over the possibility of taking a few months off, (maybe a year!) and putting the least amount of stuff possible in storage and hobo-ing around America.  Our 11yo asked, "Would we really be hobos?"  I said, "We would be hobolicious!"

I remembered recently that I had read an article once about a man who had a phobia or "fear" of sleeping on a used pillowcase; even one used by himself.  So, he had to have a brand new, high-threadcount pillowcase every night or he couldn’t sleep.  I was thinking about what kind of culture we must live in, if we can indulge those kinds of "fears".  At first, I thought it was a wealthy culture, but today, I decided that it’s not wealth per se, but more like ingratitude.  I heard a prayer/poem read by Ravi Zacharias, where the writer thanked God for everything from the newspaper to his toothpaste, to the smile of a child.  In regard to the article that I linked above, I am excited and happy to see people willingly adjust their lifestyle and their "must haves", rather than whining about the economy.  Lowering one’s standard of living is a great time to assess our level of gratitude…are we thankful for having pillows, let alone a pillowcase to go with it?  How about a bed to sleep on, instead of a floor mat or the ground?  We may miss our morning latte, but are we thankful for clean water to drink? 

Instead of saying "Yes, of course, of course I’m thankful," Let’s pray our thankfulness out loud to God today:

"Our heavenly Father, thank you for the sun that’s shining today.  Thank you for electricity and a computer that waits for my input.  Thank you for a happy and healthy family, loving and respectful children, a warm house and a kitchen full of food.  Thank you for friends that would never let us go hungry, both physically and spiritually.  Thank you for our church family and for their encouragement and love.  Thank you for a beautiful building, where we meet.  Thank you for grandparents and aunts and uncles and cousins that share in our joys and sorrows.  Thank you for music that ministers to us, calms and soothes or fills us with joy.  And thank you Father, for being mindful of us.  Thank you for letting us participate in your will and your ways.  Thank you for challenging us to seek you and find you.  And thank you for saving us from ourselves."

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for mentioning this. It is so true. Many people take what they have for granted these days. I worry about the next generation. I have noticed that what we want and what we need is very different from what it was when I grew up. We learned about the Dust Bowls this week and it was interesting to think about what those people went through after the Great Depression. It was a terrible time, but it made that generation grateful for every basic need they were able to provide for their families. I pray every day that I am teaching my children to be grateful for everything they have. It's so easy to take people and things for granted.

Leave a Reply

