Natural Remedies

Over the last few years, we have had some interesting experiences with natural remedies.  I’ve always had some interest in nutrition, natural hygeine and herbs, since I was pregnant with our first child.  I wanted my pregnancy to be a very healthy one. So, over the last 16 years,  I’ve done a lot of research and experimenting with these things.  We haven’t given up our typical American diet and I can’t say that we ever will, but there are still some good things we can do to keep everyone as healthy as possible and treat illnesses and injuries as naturally as possible. 

Recently, my husband has had some pain in his neck and shoulder and he’s being treated for this, but while he’s receiving therapy, he has needed some pain relief, but nothing over the counter or prescription has been helping him.  I decided to try some herbs that are meant for pain, so I made him some capsules with an herb mix and I used the same herbs to make a rub to massage into the muscles of his neck, shoulder, arm and back.  Although it wasn’t instant pain relief, it worked steadily over a few days.  He’s not pain free, but he’s sleeping better and he smells like gingerbread.

What I used was herbs from bulkherbstore.com.  There is a link in the right hand column of my blog, down near the bottom of my whole list of links.  I mixed the following into 1-2 cups of melted coconut oil:

  • 1 cup jungle juice mixture (see bulkherbstore.com)
  • 1 cup St. John’s Wort
  • 1/4 cup comfrey
  • 1 TB cinnamon
  • 1 TB ginger

I let this simmer slightly on the stove and then I strained out the herbs and let the oil cool.  Also, I gave him the jungle juice in the capsules.  I’m sure it works better as a tincture, but I haven’t gotten around to making that yet.

Leave a Reply

