Book Review – Created to Be His Helpmeet

Click here for my book reviews on LibraryThing.com

I’ve read through this book twice and I intend to read through it again and again in the future. I’ve talked to several women about the book and I agree that it can be viewed as a manual on "how to blame it all on the woman", but that would be the wrong view. I believe It is a biblically based, inspirational book on the role of a woman in her man’s life. Debi Pearl uses simple, straightforward language and many real-life examples to effectively communicate God’s design for the woman in marriage. I must say though, reading and knowing God’s design and carrying it out are two different things! This last year for me has been a real challenge, after reading the book for the first time. Just when I think I’ve got it handled, a new and taller hurdle appears. I have so much growing to do yet. Thankfully, Michael Pearl is working on the husband’s version of this book. I’m looking forward to peeking in on that one!

In the right hand column, under the heading "Book Reviews", you will see random covers of books that I have catalogued on a site called LibraryThing.com.  This is a very cool site if you enjoy reading and have a library of books that you like to share and talk about with other avid readers.   To read the books I have reviewed, click on The Reading Chair.

 

2 Comments

  1. I learned a lot from this book. I do believe you have to be "ready" to read it though. If I had read it 10 years ago I would have thrown it away in a huff!
    Some friends and I got together and did it as a study and it was very fruitful!
    Some parts are hard to hear – but biblical. Have a great day! Blessings, Dee

Leave a Reply

