Homeschooling, Light Bulbs and Garden Gnomes

  • The War on Lightbulbs    
  •  Greensburg Man Attacks Daughter With Garden Gnome 
  •  Schwarzenegger denounces ‘outrageous’ homeschool ruling 
  • Linda Dobson in The Homeschooling Book of Answers (Prima Publishing, 2002):

    "Once upon a time, the most frequently asked question about homeschooling was, ‘Is that legal?’ I always thought it a strange one. If I say I’m taking responsibility for my own children’s need for food, no one questions if that’s legal. If I say I’m taking responsibility for my children’s need to be healthy, again, no questions asked. In fact, I could be hauled off to jail if I didn’t take care of those responsibilities. Since taking responsibility for my children’s need for education isn’t very different from taking care of their need for food and health, I find this turn-around interesting. When it comes to ‘which books they read’ instead of ‘which vegetables they eat for dinner,’ all of a sudden it’s a legal issue. Please allow this book to help you ponder the significance of this."

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for your visit – will get you added to my "friends" asap!
    My Mum went through something similar when she was expecting me – the students were trying to find my heartbeat using one of those trumpet-shaped things and had to draw a cross on her tummy when they thought they'd got it. She ended up looking a bit like she had a dot-to-dot puzzle on her tum!!
    ~Chrissy

Leave a Reply

