Breaking the fast and breaking up with the news media

I’ve seen the headlines, I’ve heard the talk, I’ve gotten the memos at work.  I am well aware of the Swine Flu or rather the not-so-Swine flu.  I’ve managed to keep away from all of my regular media outlets, except for the headlines I see as I log into my e-mail account.  I’ve decided not to go back.  There is nothing lost by avoiding the news media outlets that take any marketable train-wreck of a story and drag it ten miles farther than it has legs to go.  I’m through with that.  It’s over for me.  During my media fast, I received an e-mail about something political that I was urged to act upon.  There was a follow up e-mail that said something about the sender getting the feeling that I wasn’t a regular reader and responder to critical updates on issues that should get my attention.  I wasn’t during the month of April and now I’m not, indefinitely.

*whew*  That’s a burden off my shoulders.  I find that the president doesn’t return my calls, anyway.  Not this president…not any president…  But the Lord, God returns my calls.

 

"Offer unto God thanksgiving; and pay thy vows unto the most High:And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me." – Psalm 50:14-15

 

Leave a Reply

