I’m Sorry. I Forgot.

“…Be at peace among yourselves. And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” – 1 Thess. 5:13-18

I forgot how to give thanks in all circumstances. I replaced giving thanks with rushing to judgment. I replaced peace with anxiety. Giving thanks in all things would insure all of the other commands in this passage. When do any of us give thanks in *all* things? I want to learn. Give thanks in all things. There wouldn’t be time for complaint or anxiety. When we give thanks it spills over to our brothers and sisters in Christ and our families and neighbors. Today is a new day. Very new. In fact it’s only 19 minutes new, but I am thankful to be alive today, Lord. Thank you for the quiet and the solitude. Thank you for the sleepiness that will put me to sleep quickly. Thank you for tranquility and the love our family has for each other. I am hiding your word in my heart that I might not sin against you, Father. I’m much sleepier now even, than I was two sentences ago… And thank you for the many blessings of yesterday.

20120426-040949.jpg

Leave a Reply

