Scripture and Current Events

There are alarming things going on every day, and I just want off this merry-go-round. I originally joined the Chic-fil-a appreciation day at the start because I have friends who work there and this was easy to do on Facebook like every other event I have added to my event list like See You at the Pole, National Day of Prayer, Sanctity of Life Sunday, etc.. I wasn’t expecting to be called a hater and see the mess this has become…and for my brother’s and sisters in the church who felt they must rebuke those who participated in this, consider the appreciation day in light of the other events I mentioned.

I saw this video and appreciated the lightheartedness:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUmoTOujJ7Q

That was just too funny.

But there’s been way too much said now, even by me. I’m tired of talking, I’m tired of listening, I’m tired of reading. I’m tired. So, when the following video was sent to me, I didn’t even want to watch it all. I got the gist in a few minutes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JprRWKQys7A

She is refuting biblical marriage citing numerous bible verses from Old Testament stories showing examples of marriages and laws for the Israelites. I watched the video and wrote down the verses, figuring I would read them and comment on them. After I wrote down about 30 verses and was only 2 minutes into the video, I realized that commenting on these would take a long, long time. The controversy would be a distant memory before I made a dent. I also felt strongly at the 2 minute mark that the young lady who created the video was mocking scripture itself rather than just poking fun at our sacred cows. Yes, her intent was to hit the supporters of Chick-fil-a with a zinger from their own book, but I would like an opportunity to sit down and go over some of these things. Seriously. As they say, it’s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye.

Anyway, I took a look at some of these verses to try and get a feel for why she chose them and where her point was going. The mostly single verses I wrote down and a few short passages came from: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Judges, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 1 & 2 Chronicles, Proverbs, Daniel and Mark (Jesus’ words referring to OT scripture). I know there were others, but again, I stopped writing after 30. I went to my Schofield bible and looked at the preface, including the Panoramic View of the Bible paragraph explaining how the books of the bible are organized. I knew I had read a number of different ways to list the books of the bible and I was searching for their literary genre. While looking I came across this sentence, “It is therefore of the utmost moment that the books be studied in the light of their distinctive themes.” The girl in the video included a disclaimer that she knows she only chose OT verses to make her point. So, I’m going to try and understand why these verses resonate with people intent on making a case for gay marriage, specifically. The first place I ever saw some of them used this way was in a clip from the show West Wing and the lines were delivered by Martin Sheen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1-ip47WYWc

I think it’s interesting in this clip that he is addressing his lines to a character that has a PhD in literature, because the bible as literature was my first thought when addressing these verses. I was talking to my daughter last night about this issue and I mentioned this attempt to discredit biblical interpretation by citing 30 sentences from 10 different books, spanning thousands of years, with different themes and characters and stories, and having no regard for genre, theme, author or purpose. I was accused of doing this myself when I offered a list of scriptures referring to the norm of marriage between only men and women in scripture, but as a rebuttal the only scriptural reference to the contrary given to me was the friendship between David and Jonathan, with the implication that this supports same sex marriage. Is this really evidence of God’s acceptance? Is this the way our Christian leaders are teaching their students to interprest scripture? How does this nullify the mountain of scripture explaining marriage and it’s holiness and role in the relationship between Christ and the church? Themes in scripture are repeated over and over, but attempts to look at scripture through the lenses of culture and not the other way around are where we get the Martin Sheen video above. I watch this Martin Sheen monologue and there is much satisfaction in this speech, in the smug expression and manner of delivery and the comments below the video. I’m afraid for those who don’t understand, and for the regarding of scripture this way. Researching this topic has been even more humbling for me to God and to His word and I’m angry at the misuse and false teaching…but all is not lost. Even those closest to God and who love Him take a long time to understand His ways. We must pray for one another:

Job 42:10 “And the LORD turned
the captivity of Job, when he prayed for his friends: also the LORD gave Job
twice as much as he had before.”

Leave a Reply

