Eat to Live

Eat To Live Website – Dr. Fuhrmann

 

Today, I started the initial 6-week start of Eat to Live. I already know how this is going to go. My mom started this on November 1st for health reasons and she has already had great success on so many levels. After she told me weeks ago that she had started this at the encouragement of her doctor for one of her diabetes maintenance visits, I knew she was on the right track and I wanted to follow. I started adding in fruit every morning like I used to do years ago. When I was pregnant with my first, I ate a mostly vegetarian diet with few processed foods and almost no fast food. It was the healthiest pregnancy of the 3. However, as with many, many people, we became very busy and convenience took over, but it’s wrong to think a ‘nutritarian’ diet is inconvenient. When 90% of your food is plant-based and much of it raw, it’s pretty convenient to just walk into the store and buy produce, wash it and eat it. I chew and eat raw garlic, I can certainly eat raw lettuces, cabbage, bell peppers, carrots, celery, oranges, apples, bananas, peas and kale. Every restaurant I go to has salads and water.

Making this change right smack in the middle of the holidays is all the better, because after reading the first chapter of the book and talking to my mom, I just don’t want to wait any longer. I’m weary of having a stomach ache every single day and I resist going to a regular doctor or taking any prescription medication unless I’m at death’s door. I see a chiropractor and use herbal remedies for most common ailments, but I’ve procrastinated on the diet issue for too long. I’m considering joining the Eat to Live community for support during this time. My husband says he plans to join me and the results will be our gift to one another for our 25th wedding anniversary next year.

ETL_book

Leave a Reply

