Blogtober 26th – Walk Circumspectly

The Face of Jesus - Rembrandt -

The Face of Jesus
– Rembrandt –

cir·cum·spect (sûr k m-sp kt ) adj. Heedful of circumstances and potential consequences; prudent

“An ambassador is “the highest-ranking person who represents his or her own government while living in another country.” As Christians we are ambassadors for Christ (see 2 Corinthians 5:20). We represent the government of Heaven. Such a thought makes me tremble. It makes me have very sober thoughts, because an ambassador can do a great deal of good for his country, or he can start a war with unwise words.” – unknown

How easy it is to start a war. Even a small war between two people seems terribly easy to get started. I told someone recently that I was dismayed over this particular issue, but that the more I studied scripture and shaped my thoughts into moderately coherent blog posts, I found myself more sensitive to the pitfalls that lead to a war of words. Where I would ordinarily be quick to answer, with an edge of impatience in my tone, I backed down more easily and waited for a soft answer to come to my lips. I already mentioned in another blog post a time recently where my husband demonstrated a soft answer toward me.

Every mistake lately has come quickly to mind and I search for a way of escape for the next time, so that I won’t fall into the pit again. I figured out one snare that trips me up frequently, and that is impatience. When I hear the word ‘impatience,’ the first thought that comes to mind is waiting in line at the store. That seems to be the great testing ground for all kinds of temptations. I get so accustomed to being in a hurry, that I forget when I’m not in a hurry, that I’m not in a hurry. My job encourages hurrying, but one great advantage to the way we are trained, is we learn how to get to the heart of the issue and control a call to finish briefly. We are timed and tested each day, but there must be a balance between mindfulness of time and attentiveness to what is right. For the Christian, we understand this in the Apostle Paul’s admonition:

“See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, Redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Wherefore be ye not unwise, but understanding what the will of the Lord is.” – Ephesians 5:15-17

Leave a Reply

