Blogtober 27th – House of Prayer

Christ Driving the Money Changers from the Temple - Rembrandt -

Christ Driving the Money Changers from the Temple
– Rembrandt –

I am growing to love Rembrandt Van Rijn. He has painted a painting for every thought that has crossed my mind when planning a blog post and I could search and find what I needed among his works. I will research and write a post about him soon, but for now I will finish out the Blogtober month with my remaining drafts. I started a some and left them hanging without an ending and here we are at October 31st already. I can’t believe the month is over. Tomorrow starts NaNoWriMo and I have my subject all picked out. Derek and I are going to work together. He and I make quite a bit of headway when talking through concepts. I love to hear what he thinks.

On that note, yesterday Derek and I were reviewing our weekly prayer page and talking about our bodies as the temple of the Lord. God’s temple in the old testament is a physical representation of a spiritual reality. It was designed and created for God’s people and for God to dwell with his people. In reading a scholarly article yesterday about the temple, the text stated that at the time of the building of the 1st temple, the Phoenicians were the most advanced in temple building and assisted the Hebrew people in this venture. The test notes that of all the temples in the world at that time, the Hebrew temple was the only one that did not contain an idol in the center. Instead, inside the holy of holies was a box, covered in gold and inside were the two stone tablets of the law. The box was topped with the mercy seat upon which the sacrificial blood was sprinkled and on top the box was guarded by 2 cherubim. Derek and I took all of this in and spiritually applied the physical to the understanding that our bodies are God’s temple and that Christ’s body is the temple of the Lord, of which we are part. My mind needs time to chew on that.

So, in the painting above, Rembrandt depicts Jesus throwing out the money changers.

“And Jesus entered the temple and drove out all who sold and bought in the temple, and he overturned the tables of the money-changers and the seats of those who sold pigeons. He said to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer,’ but you make it a den of robbers.” = Mt. 21:12-13

So, we are to be a house of prayer. Friends let’s pray.

Leave a Reply

