Depressed? Jesus Breaks the Bonds

Rembrandt's Mother

Rembrandt’s Mother

“Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:” – 1Peter5:6-7

There is an old hymn that says of God our Savior “I Need Thee Every Hour.” Is this you today? Do you need God every hour? If you have an ounce of belief in the spirit world don’t minimize the powerful forces that mean to harm you and want you to die, while at the same time forsaking God who created you and wants you to live. Depression fools some into thinking death is different than anything we’ve tried and different is better. Years of physical remedies, medications and spiritual searching may still mean struggling every day. Many don’t believe in anything apart from the material and they don’t believe that spirits exist or have any effect on our world. If you feel that depression is just a natural, normal process of the organic brain devoid of the proper chemicals to sustain a feeling of well-being, you may agree that, for the body, controlling our diet is very, very important. We must try to fill our diet with nutrient dense foods. Yes. Absolutely. Vitamin deficiencies are common when we rely on processed foods and avoid the sun and avoid exercise. These deficiencies quickly lead to chemical imbalances. Whenever we are distraught as hormones change, and even when facing very difficult life issues, the first place to look for answers are the basics. Proper food, drink, sleep, exercise and spiritual renewal. The depressed person must be persistent with the basics – ALL of the basics. The first thing to go out the window when I’m depressed is my diet and that is the worst thing to let fall away, because it messes with my sleep, causes me to get sick on top of depressed and ruins my schedule causing me to miss my devotional times, miss church, stop walking, stay inside out of the sun and wallow in my sadness. I struggle with melancholia at night. When I’m sad, I neglect meals and only eat snack food. That’s bad. Last night,  I became sad and tired. I needed to sleep. This morning, I’m better. I’ve had mornings that I wasn’t, but there’s always another corner to turn or hill to get over. Severely depressed people don’t want to take one more step. Some are thinking today that they can’t make the effort to take one more step, but they are thinking of making the effort to end their life. Don’t. Please don’t. It doesn’t make things better for everyone. It is much worse. No. The desire to take one’s life is ultimately spiritual, because we are in such a weak state of mind we are vulnerable to the evil spirit’s voices telling us to end it. They are the same voices heard by all who choose this path. I heard a man named David Parnell speak once and read things he wrote about this phenomenon. He shot himself in the face with a rifle, but he lived. He talks about those voices. He said everyone he has met who is suicidal hears the same message, the same words, the same voices.  For those who have even a marginal belief in God, dust that bible off and open it up to the gospels. Read of the people disturbed by demons who Jesus healed. Paul says that we are not battling flesh and blood but instead we battle the principalities of this present darkness! What a perfect description. The way to battle those is by prayer. Do battle in prayer, praying through God’s word. “Dear Lord, your word says(this) and I pray…” This is as physical a remedy as eating the right food, taking the right medication and sleeping the right amount of hours. Grab that bible and talk through God’s word with him. “Father, what does this mean? ‘Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world’?” , “Dear Lord, you say ‘Come to me all who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest.’ I need rest. Help me sleep, Lord. Calm my heart and soul. I release all my cares to you.” This remedy is for all. This remedy may need to be used all day, every day, for the rest of your life. Oh, but what a blessed, blessed remedy. “Once like a bird in prison I dwelt – no freedom from the sorrow I felt – but Jesus came and listened to me – And glory to God, He set me free”

Leave a Reply

