Blogtober 2014

Blogtober 2014

Blogtober 2014

Last year at this time, my daughter and I were in need of some inspiration. Everyone in the family was in the middle of school, summer was long over, rehearsals and performances for the fall musical had ended and the weeks before the holidays seemed like a really long stretch of work, mid-terms,  research papers, reading, reading and more reading. While daylight was ending earlier, the workdays seemed to be getting longer. My daughter loves to write and I love to read. So, we came up with an idea that combines the two loves.

Blogtober is inspired by NaNoWriMo.org, which stands for National Novel Writing Month. It takes place each November. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. So, for the writer who has been saying for years that they will write a novel, this gives each one a chance to actually get one done. Good or bad, the effort to write one has already been attempted and the writer knows they have done it and can do it again. In the same way, Blogtober is designed to inspire blog writing, by writing a blog a day throughout the month of October.

I enjoy the structure of the challenge to write daily. I missed some days and doubled up other days, but my goal was to get in all 31. During that time, I learned more about writing for public viewing, why I don’t try to keep a blog for generating income and how important pictures are to my posts. I write to organize my thoughts, to chase down answers to questions I have, to fill in the blanks and make a coherent argument for my point of view. My writing is personal and an expression of my life and faith. I don’t promote my writing, but I do share it with my friends and family. I read other blogs and articles daily and love to see those who love to write use their skills and share with the world.

So, join us in writing throughout the month of October. Write one post, write a hundred posts. I will promote them on my Facebook page, Pinterest and here on my blog, if you want readers. If you don’t, just blog for you. At the top of this post is a Blogtober icon you can add to your blog page. If you look to the right, you can see that I have one from last year and now this year. It’s hard to believe October is here already! This year just flew by…

Leave a Reply

