Running With the Pack Through the Twitterverse

-Pharisees in the Temple- Rembrandt

-Pharisees in the Temple-
Rembrandt

“Write about what really interests you, whether it is real things or imaginary things, and nothing else.” ― C. S. Lewis

It is much too easy now to be lured away from the Word of God and to cling to every scrap of controversy… I started using Twitter this year. The world moves so much faster on Twitter and I feel so much closer to the action of all the news of the world. When I’m commenting and re-tweeting I feel like I’m running with the pack. It can be fun, but being this close to the action can also be disappointing. There is something to be said for the mystique of distance.

I don’t have regular readers or commenters on my blog. I don’t write books and no one knows who I am on a national level. So, after reading an article last February by a nationally known journalist and online news site editor, I was one of the first to comment on Twitter and was very surprised to receive a reply from the author. We discussed his take on the issue of Christianity, the slave trade, the American south, guilt and implication, but after I twice challenged him on the issue, he stopped talking to me and then swiped the essence of that conversation to write another article arguing his point further. He didn’t name me, but it was an obvious rebuttal to my point. He also didn’t link to it in reply to me. I went looking for it myself.  The new article was published swiftly after our conversation. I tried to continue the conversation in the comments section, but all comments are moderated and I waited for him to publish my comment. I never found it. Soon enough, the news cycle moved on and so did I. Since I was new to the Twitterverse, I stopped following him and tried some other writers.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago when the Charleston shooting and subsequent confederate flag outcry hit the news cycle. The subject matter reminded me of this journalist again and our conversation months earlier and I wanted to see what he had to say. His Twitter account now states that I am blocked from following him. So, not only did he swipe our previous conversation for professional gain, but he blocked me from replying. I sent him an email , but he did not reply to that either. Since his bio advertises him as an Orthodox Christian journalist, this has all simply attracted my attention more not less. I’m going to take a closer look at his writing and blog some about what I’m reading, because red flags have been popping up concerning this journalist and I want to do some research and write about them. I’ll start with the original article from last February in my next blog post.

I found out today that another blogger picked up on our Twitter conversation from last February and captured the moment. I’m looking forward to digging further into this. Ordinarily I would let this kind of thing go. I comment regularly on articles and blog posts and twitter and Facebook, but it looks like this journalist I was speaking to is a leader and news maker who desires to start a new Christian movement, leading us in this culture…somewhere. I’m not sure where. It also looks like a road that is a waste of time and energy. My concern is that it is actually false teaching and not centered around the gospel of Christ, but maybe he is just taking simple scriptural principles and making them more complicated, calling the movement by a new name and trying to start a new trend. There would be new jargon and new books, of course. And as I read recently, new schools. I don’t have anything against writing books, and it’s not my way to try to discourage Christians, but I do have problems with pre-planned pack ‘movements’. We must be on alert brothers and sisters and stay close to the Shepherd and his word, within which our entire faith is spelled out plainly.

“…Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.…” – Ephesians 5:15-17

Leave a Reply

