Asking in Faith and Giving Thanks

Door Bell

Asking in faith and giving thanks is a good place to start a walk of faith in Christ.

When I first came to Christ at the age of 18, the bible was a very large, unfamiliar book to me. One of my uncles had given me a King James Version and I went to the bookstore at the church I started attending to find some little accessories that might help me tackle it. I bought some highlighting pencils, a bookmark with a verse I liked on the front and a nice notebook. Reading and understanding was slow. Some of my friends started giving me notecards with verses to memorize on them, written in colored marker with drawings of flowers and in a version of the bible with more up-to-date language. I loved these and I memorized the verses, which would then become the subject of random quizzing when we were together again.

But while I was learning to navigate my way through scripture, I started right away with asking God for everything and giving thanks for everything…if I remembered. that was another thing I struggled with was remembering my new identity in Christ. Before Jesus, I used to wake up sad or depressed or stressed, but I remember asking God to help me wake up in the morning and know immediately that I was a child of God and He was my Father and that I could ask anything and thank Him for everything. This grew my faith very quickly.

So, I think I need to start again. In the book of Jeremiah, where Israel is being chastised for turning their back on God, Jeremiah 6:16 says:

“Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein.”

Only thanks to Jesus do I desire to do as He says and walk where He says to walk.
He is a good, good Father and I am loved by Him.

Leave a Reply

